The project „Energiewende.NRW – Bürger gestalten den Umbau des Energiesystems” belongs to the research cluster “Governance & Participation” and is part of the Virtual Institute (VI) “Transformation – Energy Transition NRW”. The project idea is based on a participation-oriented implementation of the energy transition in North Rhine-Westphalia under consideration of a multi-level perspective.

Project

„Energiewende.NRW – Bürger gestalten den Umbau des Energiesystems”

The German energy transition influences various spheres of life of citizens in North Rhine-Westphalia. For example, the energy transition bases on technological developments, policy frameworks or new business strategies, user practices and lifestyles. The analysis of these complex changes, i.e. transitions, is embedded into transition research, where transitions are analyzed using the multi-level perspective. Since transitions mirror radical and structural changes on a regime, the question arises how transitions find their way from niche to the implementation in regime. The multi-level perspective encompasses various forms of transitions and helps to answer this exact question, for example, how new user practices are established.

So far, concepts such as social innovations, narratives and “field tests” (Real-Labore) were not included in the multi-level perspective, moreover, there are only limited research approaches in these fields, especially with regard to the energy transition in North Rhine-Westphalia. The implementation of the project thus fills a gap in research and meets the specific political-cultural nature of North Rhine-Westphalia. This is also reflected in the implementation of the project idea, which is processed in a research design that puts empirical and theoretical work into relation and includes practical tests. The leading research questions are:

  1. Where and how can social innovations inspire the energy transition?
  2. What might be new forms of participation and what is their basis? On which social narratives do they base? Which narratives are viable?
  3. How can a multilevel approach be processed so that it serves as a guiding construct for the energy transition?
  4. How can practical ideas and impact(s) be achieved on this basis?

Funding: Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research (MIWF)

Project Partners: Social Research Centre – Central Scientific Institute of Technische Universität Dortmund (Prof. Dr. Jürgen Howaldt, Jürgen Schultze, Franziska Krüger); University of Wuppertal (Prof. Dr. Hans J. Lietzmann, Dr. Volker Mittendorf, Anna Nora Freier); Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy (Katja Pietzner, Benjamin Best), Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (Prof. Dr. Claus Leggewie, Dr. Steven Engler, Saskia Dankwart-Kammoun)

Duration: April 2015 – April 2017

Overall Coordination: Prof. Dr. Jürgen Howaldt (TU Dortmund / Social Research Centre (sfs))

Das Projekt „Energiewende.NRW – Bürger gestalten den Umbau des Energiesystems“ ist Teil des Virtuellen Instituts (VI) „Transformation – Energiewende NRW“ und dort im Forschungscluster „Governance & Partizipation“ angesiedelt. Die Projektidee basiert auf einer partizipationsorientierten Umsetzung der Energiewende in Nordrhein-Westfalen unter Berücksichtigung der Multi-Level Perspektive.

Projekt

„Energiewende.NRW – Bürger gestalten den Umbau des Energiesystems“

Die Energiewende spiegelt sich in vielen Lebensbereichen der Bürger in NRW wider und wird von ihnen beeinflusst. So basiert die Energiewende unter anderem auf technologischen Entwicklungen, politischen Rahmensetzungen oder auch neuen Geschäftsstrategien, Nutzerpraktiken und Lebensstilen. Die Analyse dieser komplexen Veränderungen, also Transitionen, ist in die Transitionforschung eingebettet, wobei Transitionen mithilfe der Multi-Level Perspektive analysiert werden. Da es sich bei Transitionen um radikale, strukturelle Änderungen auf Regimeebene handelt, stellt sich die Frage wie Transitionen ihren Weg von der Nische ins Regime finden. Die Multi-Level Perspektive umfasst dabei verschiedene Formen des Übergangs und hilft eben zu erklären, wie sich beispielsweise neue Nutzerpraktiken etablieren.

Bisher wurden Konzepte wie Soziale Innovationen, Narrative und Real-Labore jedoch nicht in die Multi-Level Perspektive einbezogen, zudem existieren nur begrenzt Forschungsansätze in diesen Themenfeldern, insbesondere mit Blick auf die Energiewende in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Die Umsetzung des Projektes schließt somit eine Forschungslücke und wird der speziellen politisch-kulturellen Beschaffenheit Nordrhein-Westfalens gerecht. Dies spiegelt sich auch in der Durchführung der Projektidee wider, die in einem Forschungsdesign bearbeitet wird, das empirische und theoretische Arbeiten aufeinander bezieht und Erprobungen in der Praxis einbezieht. Leitend sind die folgenden Forschungsfragen:

  1. Wo und wie können soziale Innovationen die Energiewende beflügeln?
  2. Wie sehen neue Formen der Beteiligung aus und worauf fußen diese? Welche sozialen Narrative liegen ihnen zugrunde? Welche Narrative sind entwicklungsfähig?
  3. Wie kann ein Multilevel Approach so aufbereitet werden, dass er als orientierungsgebendes Konstrukt für die Energiewende fungiert?
  4. Wie können auf dieser Basis Praxisimpulse gesetzt und Impact(s) erzielt werden?
×