Urbanization is one of the Megatrends of our time: it fundamentally encompasses all political, societal, technical and economical levels and alters them significantly. The research project “EnerUrb” is concerned with the reciprocal effects of political, social and cultural implications of the urban as well as rural Energy Turn, in the nexus of water, energy, agriculture and sustenation.

Project

EnerUrb – Urbanization: The Energy Turn in North-Rhine Westphalia in an Area of Conflict Between Rural and Urban Regions.

Urbanization is one of the Megatrends of our time: it fundamentally encompasses all political, societal, technical and economical levels and alters them significantly. The term ‘Urbanization’ not only refers to a process of spatial densification through urban growth. It also concerns socio-economical and sociocultural developments which are taking place in metropolitan as well as rural areas. Given the coexistence of densely and sparsely settled areas in NRW (e.g. the Ruhrgebiet and Sauerland), a diverse range of types and trends of urbanization can be identified. However, these spaces are not separate – rather, they interact on several different levels.

The central challenge of the 21st century is to successfully implement the Energy Turn.

Given a decline in energy needs and the accompanying technical infrastructure, diverse solutions are required which can renewably and efficiently shape the integration and energetic optimization of rural and urban infrastructure.

The research project “EnerUrb” is concerned with the reciprocal effects of political, social and cultural implications of the urban as well as rural Energy Turn, in the nexus of water, energy, agriculture and sustenation.

It aims to capture the non-technical aspects of the Energy Turn in conjunction with urbanization and to contribute to the sustainability of these processes. This is enabled by citizen participation integrated into the project. The goal is not only to explore citizens’ interests, but also to integrate the citizenry in terms of a transformative academia.

The following research questions follow from the focus on urbanization and the connection of the Energy Turn with the ‘Food-Energy-Water Nexus’:

  • Which political and social dynamics form the base of the Energy Turn in NRW when including the FEW-Nexus and which differences exist between urban and rural areas?
  • Which urbanization-trends can be identified in NRW?
  • Which social dynamics can be identified in both rural and urban areas in NRW in the context of the Energy Turn?
  • What should the qualities of a holistic Energy Turn be when taking into account the FEW-Nexus from the point of view of civil society in urban as well as rural areas?

The results will be mapped in a participative Energy-Turn-Index, the aim of which is to contribute to a successful overhaul of the energy grid in rural and urban spaces of NRW, while at the same time promoting citizen involvement.

Project Management: Prof. Dr. Hans J. Lietzmann (BUW), Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick (WI), Prof. Dr. Petra Schweizer-Ries (HSBO)

Project Coordination: Nora Freier (BUW)

Project Staff: Lisa Kränke (HSBO), Katja Witte (WI)

Funded By: Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes NRW (Ministry for the Economy, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy of the State of North-Rhine Westphalia); Cluster EnergieForschung.NRW (Cluster Energy Research.NRW)

Duration: 01/2018 – 12/2019

Urbanisierung ist einer der Megatrends unserer Zeit: Er umfasst alle politischen, gesellschaftlichen, technischen und ökonomischen Ebenen grundlegend und verändert sie langfristig. Das Forschungsprojekt „EnerUrb“ befasst sich konkret mit den Wechselwirkungen von politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Implikationen der urbanen und ländlichen Energiewende im Nexus von Wasser, Energie, Landwirtschaft und Ernährung.

Projekt

EnerUrb – Urbanisierung: Energiewende in NRW im Spannungsfeld von Stadt und Land

Urbanisierung ist einer der Megatrends unserer Zeit: Er umfasst alle politischen, gesellschaftlichen, technischen und ökonomischen Ebenen grundlegend und verändert sie langfristig. Der Begriff Urbanisierung beschreibt längst nicht mehr bloß einen räumlichen Verdichtungsprozess durch zunehmende Verstädterung, er umfasst auch sozioökonomische und soziokulturelle Entwicklungen, die sowohl in städtischen Ballungsräumen als auch in ländlichen Gebieten stattfinden. Angesichts der Koexistenz von dicht und dünn besiedelten Räumen in NRW (z. B. Ruhrgebiet und Sauerland) sind hier diverse Facetten von Urbanisierungstypen und -trends erfahrbar. Diese Räume sind jedoch nicht voneinander getrennt, sie interagieren auf verschiedenen Ebenen!

Die zentrale Herausforderung des 21. Jahrhunderts lautet: Die Energiewende erfolgreich umsetzen.

Angesichts eines Gefälles des Energiebedarfs und der damit einhergehenden technischen Infrastruktur bedarf es verschiedener Lösungsansätze, die etwa die Vernetzung und energetische Optimierung städtischer und ländlicher Infrastruktur effizient und nachhaltig gestalten können.

Das Forschungsprojekt „EnerUrb“ befasst sich konkret mit den Wechselwirkungen von politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Implikationen der urbanen und ländlichen Energiewende im Nexus von Wasser, Energie, Landwirtschaft und Ernährung.

Dieses Forschungsvorhaben zielt darauf ab, die nicht-technischen Aspekte der Energiewende in Verbindung mit der Urbanisierung zu erfassen und zu einer nachhaltigeren Gestaltung dieser Prozesse beizutragen. Ermöglicht wird diese insbesondere durch die Partizipation von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, welche in dieses Forschungsvorhaben integriert wird. Es geht dabei nicht nur um die Erforschung von Bürger(innen)interessen, sondern vielmehr um eine partizipative Einbindung der Bürgerschaft im Sinne einer transformativen Wissenschaft.

Aus dem Fokus auf die Urbanisierung und speziell auf die Verbindung zwischen der Energiewende und dem „Food-Energy-Water Nexus“ in der Energiewendeforschung ergeben sich folgende Forschungsfragen:

  • Welche politischen und gesellschaftlichen Dynamiken liegen der Energiewende in NRW unter Einbezug des FEW-Nexus zugrunde und welche Unterschiede gibt es in der Stadt-Land Betrachtung?
  • Welche Urbanisierungstrends lassen sich für NRW identifizieren?
  • Welche zivilgesellschaftlichen und bürgerschaftlichen Dynamiken gibt es im Kontext der Energiewende in den verschiedenen urbanen und ländlichen Räumen in Nordrhein-Westfalen?
  • Wie sollte eine ganzheitliche Energiewende mit Einbezug des FEW-Nexus aus bürgerschaftlicher und zivilgesellschaftlicher Sicht in Stadt und Land gestaltet werden?

Die Ergebnisse werden abgebildet in einem partizipativen Energiewende-Index, der zur erfolgreichen und beteiligungsorientierten Gestaltung des Umbaus der Energieversorgung in städtischen und ländlichen Räumen NRWs beitragen soll.

Projektleitung: Prof. Dr. Hans J. Lietzmann (BUW), Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick (WI), Prof. Dr. Petra Schweizer-Ries (HSBO)

Koordinatorin: Nora Freier (BUW)

MitarbeiterInnen: Lisa Kränke (HSBO), Katja Witte (WI)

Förderer: Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes NRW; in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Cluster EnergieForschung.NRW

Laufzeit: 01/2018 – 12/2019