The so-called “Energy Turn 2.0” is not viable in terms of technology without scores of IT-products: complex control- and distribution-systems, integrated communications- and monitoring devices. Evidently, the Energy Turn and digitalization are interdependent. The approach of the research- and concepting-project EnerDigit is to take a step back from the issues of implementation and instead look at the networking and controlling between industry and energy systems from the perspective of centrality and decentrality.

Project

EnerDigit – The Energy Turn and Digitalization between Centrality and Decentrality: Regional and Corporate-Cultural Perspectives

Renewable energy is predominantly volatile; wind power plants can’t produce electricity without wind, photovoltaics depend on sunlight. Thus, surplus capacity as well as its opposite must be balanced – which not only leads to the recurring switch-off of wind farms but also to fierce debates about the viability of the Energy Turn.

There is, however, a consensus that the infrastructure of the Energy Turn not only consists of power lines, substations, reservoir power stations and others. Rather, the aim is to achieve an intelligent network as well as control mechanism integrating the numerous producers and consumers. Correspondingly, the energy system of the Energy Turn is a socio-technological one.

The so-called “Energy Turn 2.0” is not viable in terms of technology without scores of IT-products: complex control- and distribution-systems, integrated communications- and monitoring devices as well as Smart Grids. Evidently, the Energy Turn and digitalization are interdependent. An intelligent, decentralized and flexible networking of energy systems with systems of production and distribution seems obvious.

The approach of the research- and concepting-project EnerDigit is to take a step back from the issues of implementation and instead look at the networking and controlling between industry and energy systems from the perspective of centrality and decentrality. Co-Creation, smaller company environments via low-emission production techniques (e.g. additive manufacturing), decentralized production as well as new urban (participative) production are hopes attached to the digital and energetic transformation of industry. However, the flip-side of this decentrality is the above mentioned necessity to network and remote-control the production and consumption of energy.

Does this imagery of remote-controlled domestic appliances such as washing machines, dishwashers, etc – which is sometimes portrayed as some kind of horror-scenario – necessarily transfer to industrial manufactories? How and by whom will production and consumption be supervised? Who will decide or what algorithm will determine whether manufacturers are allowed to purchase energy and at what price? How intelligent or ‘smart’ are these decisions? First, EnerDigit inquires which centralized and decentralized elements are likely to emerge from the networking and operation of production processes through digitalization and the Energy Turn 2.0. To this end, the rather decentralized and coordinated economic system of Germany will serve as an analogic pattern. Will digitalization and Energy Turn 2.0 result in a similarly decentralized and coordinated economy or will it result in a different economic system? The second step then is to identify sectors and companies which already stand out in terms of high levels of networking against the backdrop of digitalization and Energy Turn 2.0. The aim is to determine palpable candidates for case studies.

The case studies will serve to empirically substantiate the conceptual view on centrality and decentrality. How does networking affect a company and its employees? Will the experiences predominantly be the likes of responsibility and accountability or will there be tendencies of alienation and heteronomy?

In the final step the data will be assessed and utilized to gain approaches to an intelligently managed but nonetheless decentralized and participative transformation of the industrial- and energy sector. One possible approach would be to selectively imbue the system of networked and intelligently controlled production, distribution and consumption with federalistic elements.

Project Management: Dr. Steven Engler (KWI), Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick (WI),  Dr. Stefan Gärtner (IAT),

Project Coordination: Marius Beckamp (IAT)

Project Staff: Dr. Franz Flögel (IAT), Marco Hasselkuss (WI), Sonja Knobbe (KWI), Helena Mölter (WI), Dr.-Ing. Hansjürgen Paul (IAT), Martina Schmitt (WI), Dr. Daniel Vallentin (WI)

Funded By: Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes NRW (Ministry for the Economy, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy of the State of North-Rhine Westphalia); Cluster EnergieForschung.NRW (Cluster Energy Research.NRW)

Duration: 01/2018 – 09/2019

Diese sogenannte „Energiewende 2.0“ ist technisch nicht ohne zahlreiche Produkte der Informationstechnologie, komplexe Steuerungs- und Verteilsysteme oder integrierte Kommunikations- und Überwachungsanwendungen. Offenbar gehören Digitalisierung und Energiewende zusammen. Ansatz des Forschungs- und Konzeptionsprojekts EnerDigit ist es, einen Schritt von den umsetzungsorientierten Fragen zurück zu treten und die Vernetzung und insbesondere Steuerung zwischen Industrie und Energiesystem aus der Perspektive von Dezentralität und Zentralität zu beleuchten.

Projekt

EnerDigit – Energiewende und Digitalisierung zwischen Dezentralität und Zentralität: regionale und unternehmenskulturelle Perspektiven

Erneuerbare Energie ist überwiegend volatil: Windkraftanlagen können ohne Wind keine Energie liefern, Photovoltaiksysteme sind auf Sonnenlicht angewiesen. Im regulären Betrieb müssen daher Über- und Unterkapazitäten ausgeglichen werden – was nicht nur zu immer wiederkehrenden Abschaltungen norddeutscher Windparks, sondern auch zu leidenschaftlichen bis polemischen Debatten um Sinn und Unsinn der Energiewende führt.

Einigkeit besteht darüber, dass die Infrastruktur der Energiewende nicht nur aus Hochspannungsleitungen, Umspannstationen, Speicherkraftwerken u. ä. besteht. Vielmehr gilt es, eine intelligente Vernetzung und Steuerung der zahlreichen dezentralen ProduzentInnen und VerbraucherInnen zu erzielen. Das Energiesystem der Energiewende ist entsprechend als ein soziotechnisches Energiesystem zu verstehen. Diese sogenannte „Energiewende 2.0“ ist technisch nicht ohne zahlreiche Produkte der Informationstechnologie, komplexe Steuerungs- und Verteilsysteme oder integrierte Kommunikations- und Überwachungsanwendungen realisierbar – auch nicht ohne Smart Grids. Offenbar gehören Digitalisierung und Energiewende zusammen. Eine intelligente, dezentrale, flexible Vernetzung der Energiesysteme mit den Produktions- und Distributionssystemen liegt auf der Hand.

Ansatz des Forschungs- und Konzeptionsprojekts EnerDigit ist es, einen Schritt von den umsetzungsorientierten Fragen zurück zu treten und die Vernetzung und insbesondere Steuerung zwischen Industrie und Energiesystem aus der Perspektive von Dezentralität und Zentralität zu beleuchten. Dezentrale Produktion, kleine Betriebsgrößen durch neue emissionsarme Produktionsverfahren (z.B. additive Verfahren), neue urbane (und partizipative) Produktion und Co-Creation sind Hoffnungen, die sich an die digitale und energetische Transformation der Industrie knüpfen. Die Kehrseite dieser Dezentralität ist jedoch die oben skizzierte Notwendigkeit der Vernetzung und Steuerung der Produktion und des Verbrauchs von Energie.

Überträgt sich das gerne als Horrorszenario ausgemalte Bild von den fremdgesteuerten Leben, d.h. ferngesteuerten Haushaltsgeräten, Geschirrspülern, Waschmaschinen, zwangsweise auf industrielle Produktionsbetriebe? Wer bzw. wie wird Produktion und Konsumption gesteuert? Wer entscheidet bzw. nach welchen Algorithmen wird festgelegt, ob bzw. zu welchem Preis Produzenten Energie beziehen dürfen und wie intelligent sind diese Entscheidungen wirklich? EnerDigit fragt im ersten Analyseschritt danach, welche dezentralen und zentralen Elemente sich in der Vernetzung und Steuerung industrieller Produktionsprozesse durch Digitalisierung und Energiewende 2.0 möglicherweise abzeichnen werden. Hierbei wird das eher dezentrale und koordinierte deutsche Wirtschaftssystem als Vergleichsschablone herangezogen. Formiert sich ein ähnlich dezentrales, aber koordiniertes Wirtschaftssystem durch Digitalisierung und Energiewende 2.0 oder zeichnet sich ein Systemwechsel ab?

In einem zweiten Analyseschritt sollen Branchen und Unternehmen identifiziert werden, die sich schon heute durch einen hohen Grad an Vernetzung und Steuerung vor dem Hintergrund der Digitalisierung und Energiewende 2.0 auszeichnen. Die Suche mündet in der Identifikation konkreter Unternehmensbeispiele für Fallstudien.

Die Fallstudien dienen dazu, den konzeptionellen Blick auf Dezentralität und Zentralität empirisch zu untermauern. Wie wirkt sich die Vernetzung auf das Unternehmen und seine MitarbeiterInnen aus? Dominieren Erfahrungen der Übertragung von Verantwortung u.ä. oder lassen sich Entfremdungstendenzen bzw. Erfahrungen der Fernsteuerung identifizieren?

Im letzten Arbeitsschritt sollen die gewonnenen Ergebnisse bewertet und nach Ansätzen einer intelligent gesteuerten und dennoch dezentralen wie partizipativen Transformation des Industriesektors und des Energiesektors gesucht werden. Ein möglicher Ansatz wäre es, gezielt föderale Elemente in das integrierte Gesamtsystem aus vernetzter und intelligent gesteuerter Produktion, Distribution und Konsumption zu integrieren.

Projektleitung: Dr. Steven Engler (KWI), Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick (WI), Dr. Stefan Gärtner (IAT)

Koordination: Marius Beckamp (IAT)

MitarbeiterInnen: Dr. Franz Flögel (IAT), Marco Hasselkuss (WI), Sonja Knobbe (KWI), Helena Mölter (WI), Dr.-Ing. Hansjürgen Paul (IAT), Martina Schmitt (WI), Dr. Daniel Vallentin (WI)

Förderer: Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes NRW; in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Cluster EnergieForschung.NRW

Laufzeit: 01/2018 – 09/2019